Pittsburgh’s police chief is resigning after two years. How long do chiefs usually last here?

Some chiefs last less than a year. Others more than nine.

Pittsburgh Police Chief Cameron McLay.

Pittsburgh Police Chief Cameron McLay.

Pittsburgh Bureau of Police / Facebook
Sarah Anne Hughes

Pittsburgh Police Chief Cameron McLay is stepping down after two years on the job, he announced with Mayor Bill Peduto this morning.

“We knew we weren’t going to have him very long. [On day one], he said that three years is the average police chief serves. Well, we’ve had him for a little over two, and I would really love to have him for another year,” the mayor said at a 10 a.m. press conference. (You can watch that here.)

“But there are other things in Chief McLay’s future. And there are other ways to be able to serve the public and at the same time make sure the City of Pittsburgh stays on the track he put us on.”

McLay said he does not have another job lined up yet. His last day is Dec. 4, but he will use accrued time between now and then, making Election Day his last day on the ground, he said.

Asst. Chief of Operations Scott Schubert will be acting chief for the next 90 days — during which he has the opportunity to prove he should be the next police chief, Peduto said.

More than 50 people have served as chief of the Pittsburgh Bureau of Police since the department was formed in 1857. The longest serving chief in the force’s history was James W. Slusser, who served for 17 years between 1952 and 1970.

No chief in recent history has served quite that long.

Here’s a look at the tenures of the chiefs (excluding interim leaders) from the past few decades — and why they left.

Cameron McLay

Appointed by: Mayor Bill Peduto
Tenure: Two years (Sept. 2014 – Nov. 2016)
Reason: To pursue other opportunities.

Nathan Harper

Appointed by: Mayor Luke Ravenstahl
Tenure: Six years (Oct. 2006 – Feb. 2013)
Reason for exit: Scandal. Harper eventually pleaded guilty to improperly diverting thousands of dollars in public money and served time in a federal prison.

Dom Costa

Appointed by: Mayor Bob O’Connor
Tenure: Less than a year (Jan. 2006 – Sept. 2006)
Reason for exit: Health issues caused by 2002 gunshot wound. Costa is now a state representative.

Robert McNeilly

Appointed by: Mayor Thomas J. Murphy Jr.
Tenure: 9 years (April 1996 – Jan. 2006)
Reason for exit: Fired by Mayor Bob O’Connor as part of regime change.

Earl Buford

Appointed by: Mayor Sophie Masloff
Tenure: Three years (June 1992 – Dec. 1995)
Reason for exit: Retired to take advantage of early retirement plan.

Mayer DeRoy

Appointed by: Mayor Sophie Masloff
Tenure: Two years (May 1990 – June 1992)
Reason for exit: Retired to take advantage of early retirement plan.

Ralph Pampena

Appointed by: Mayor Richard Caliguiri
Tenure: Three years (May 1987 – May 1990)
Reason for exit: “Eased out” after Caliguiri’s death.

William “Mugsy” Moore

Appointed by: Mayor Richard Caliguiri
Tenure: One year (April 1986 – May 1987)
Reason for exit: Moore, the city’s first black police chief, resigned after becoming disgusted with the position, saying the city “would have to find someone else to play the role of a token.”

Robert J. Coll

Appointed by: Mayor Peter F. Flaherty
Tenure: 11 years (March 1975 – April 1986)
Reason for exit: Resigned, he said, of his own accord.